Accessibility: s|M|L|Text Only
send to a colleagueSend to a Friend

What are ISO 9000 and ISO 9001?

International Standards for Quality Assurance
ISO 9000 is a set of five universal standards for a Quality Assurance system that is accepted world-wide. Currently 90 countries have adopted ISO 9000 as national standards. When a product or service is purchased from a company that is registered to the appropriate ISO 9000 standard, the quality is assured.

The most comprehensive of the standards is ISO 9001. It applies to industries involved in design and development, manufacturing, installation and servicing of products. The standards apply uniformly to companies in any industry and of any size.

Why are the Standards so Important?
Many companies require their suppliers to become ISO 9001 registered. As a result registered companies find that their market opportunities are increased. In addition, a company's compliance with ISO 9001 indicates that it has a sound Quality Assurance system.

Benefits for registered companies include:

  • Dramatic reductions in customer complaints
  • Significant reductions in operating costs
  • Increased demand for their products and services.

    ISO 9000 registration is rapidly becoming essential for companies trading in Europe. Many industrial companies require their suppliers to be ISO registered. ISO 9000 is on course to become the universally accepted international standard.

    Source of information:

    Latest News
    Upcoming Events
    »Bionic hand wins top tech prize
    Bionic hand wins top tech prize
    »Optos Named European Inventor Of The Year 2008
    Optos Named European Inventor Of The Year 2008
    »New life forms in the BioQuarter
    Last week's groundbreaking deal to fund the development of the first BioQuarter outside the US at Little France in Edinburgh was a reminder that, among other things, economic development is alive and kicking
    Upcoming Events
    Upcoming Events
    »MEDICA 2008
    »Medical Innovation forum-Harrogate

    Valid HTML 4.01   W3C Validated CSS   conforms to W3C  WCAG 1.0 Triple-A   Search Engine Friendly